Fifa world cup 2022


International Flags


5 teams


5.5 Teams


13 teams

North and Central America and Caribbean

13 teams


0.5 team

South America

4.5 teams

teams’ Qualification

FIFA’s six continental confederations organise their own qualifying competitions. All FIFA member associations, of which there are currently 211, are eligible to enter qualification. Qatar, as hosts, qualified automatically for the tournament. However, Qatar is obliged by the AFC to participate in the Asian qualifying stage as the first two rounds also act as qualification for the 2023 AFC Asian Cup. If the Qataris reach the final stage as winners in their group or as one of the four best runners-up, the fifth-best team will advance instead. The reigning World Cup champions France will also go through qualifying stages as normal.

# Flag Country Name Continent
1 Argentina Flag Argentina South America
2 Brazil Flag Brazil South America
3 Belgium Flag Belgium Europe
4 Croatia Flag Croatia Europe
5 Denmark Flag Denmark Europe
6 Ecuador Flag Ecuador South America
7 England Flag England Europe
8 France Flag France Europe
9  Germany Flag Germany Europe
10  Iran Flag Iran Asia
11  Japan Flag Japan Asia
12  Netherlands Flag Netherlands Europe
13 Qatar Flag Qatar Asia
14 Saudi Arabia Flag Saudi Arabia Asia
15  Serbia Flag Serbia Europe
16  Spain Flag Spain Europe
17 South Korea Flag South Korea Asia
18  Switzerland Flag Switzerland Europe
19 Uruguay Flag Uruguay South America
20  Flag TBA TBA
21  Flag TBA TBA
22  Flag TBA TBA
23  Flag TBA TBA
24  Flag TBA TBA
25  Flag TBA TBA
26  Flag TBA TBA
27  Flag TBA TBA
28  Flag TBA TBA
29  Flag TBA TBA
30  Flag TBA TBA
31  Flag TBA TBA
32  Flag TBA TBA